metamorphosis

It’s a jolly good thing no one told me that public speaking comes to those who write. Although, to be honest, there’s a boat load of things I kind of knew but chose to forget while working on Mennonites Don’t Dance. For instance, when dipping my pen nib into people’s lives and characters, wondering what the consequences might be, I thought to myself, There’s a better than good chance I’ll never find a publisher, anyway! See how consoling delusion can be?

Now, though, the book is almost ready. And in a few months, once the stories become a book, the metamorphosis of a hermit to a confident solo speaker who flits from stage to stage, must also find some path to completion. Anyone know where to find a good chrysalis?

In the meantime, though, a limited edition print of the artwork used for my book cover just arrived in the mail! It turns out that Madalina Lordache-Levy’s award-winning piece, “The Suicide,” was not only what Mennonites needed to turn it from words on paper to something that can be touched and felt, but was also exactly what was missing from the wall above where I write.

5 thoughts on “metamorphosis

  1. Oh puh-leaze!!! I have heard you read and discuss your work in public on more than one occasion, and have been left green with envy over your clear, composed, professional manner. You have NOTHING to worry about, my pretty.

    Meanwhile, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: your cover is bee-YU-tee-ful! And I’ll bet it looks simply stunning over your desk 🙂

  2. Okay, from now on I’m going to listen to myself through your ears! Mine hear something more like, “Um, well, so, yeah…” I’m hoping by the third or fourth venue I can just press Play and start talking without thinking.

    Still need to frame the print. Know anyone to recommend?!

    • I saw a gorgeous white frame in Chapters that I’ve been covetting, in their gift section. Don’t know if it would be the right size, but it would certainly be a perfect look!

  3. Ooh. Might want that for something else, but for this will need a framer and acid-free everything. Coulda bought furniture (okay, small furniture, but still) with what I paid for the print! Which, sigh, means I probably can’t have the Chapters frame or anything to go in.

Leave a comment